Overwhelmed but hanging on in there…

I’m in the midst of my bookkeeping level 2 course. We’ve been taught everything that is new to us, and now it’s revising time for our exam at the end of March. It’s been intense for me. I’ve been doing my best to comfort the inner child that still gets paralyzed by anything remotely maths-like and trying to embrace the challenge like the adult I’m supposed to be these days. So, what with working full-time and studying part-time I haven’t had much in the way of writing time.

I have, however, been told about a writing submission opportunity. A press is looking for supernatural detective stories, which sounds like a perfect home for ‘The Darkwood Mysteries’. I’m piecing together a Darkwood tale that wouldn’t have seen the light of day for a while and hope to submit that and a prepublished one for consideration. Fingers crossed. It would be a nice way to expand the Darkwood audience. I am also busy preparing ‘The Darkwood Mysteries’ and my novel ‘Ivory’ for the Kindle in April. Book formatting is the tenth level of Hell by the way, but determined not to pay someone else to do it.

So that this isn’t the repeated moan of ‘I don’t have enough time’ (although I really don’t you know!) I hope to get back to writing new mysteries for ‘The Darkwood Mysteries’ over the summer. At the beginning of the month I gave you titles of the next run of stories, now a taste of the details for the first two stories…

The Hound at the Door

People are going missing in curious circumstances. When an apparent suicide note mentions a phantom hound Darkwood, Hobbs and Inspector Duggan investigate a common link–a seance where the guests get much more than they bargained for, and an old enemy is at work…

The Philanthropy of the Dead

When Montgomery Woods signed over his personal wealth and estates he left his son with nothing. It could have simply been punishment for a wayward son–except in Darkwood and Hobbs’ world things are rarely simple. Montogmery Woods was declared dead days before his act of charity. What’s more, he was not the first of several wealthy men that have died, only to return and sign away their fortunes…

I hope that whets your appetite… Now, back to playing with numbers…

What do you think?

