Reflecting on January…

image

Jeez. Is it over already? No January lull here, it seems to have flown by.

OK, so no full on writing for me. AAT studies have the priorities at the moment. Very sensible of me. However, I’m never not doing anything writing related…

The next project is ‘The Darkwood Mysteries: The Hunt for Spring-Heeled Jack’. Check out that picture. You know what I see when I see that? A retro superhero villain. And superhero is the genre this tale is pushing at. I’ve been planning this tale out. The next run of ‘The Darkwood Mysteries’ will hopefully build the world and the characters around Darkwood and Hobbs and this story will be pretty pivotal in that.

Some characters from the previous tale ‘The Hag on the Heath’ will be returning–the father and daughter, Patrin and Florica, and their gypsy band. As you can imagine, what they went through on the heath is still with them. A character from a story I’ve written but not released, ‘The Hound at the Door’ will be back (again–she’s in two others so far!), and there will be three or four more characters introduced that will be returning characters. Darkwood and Hobbs are going to be getting allies.

Darkwood and Hobbs are my hero toys to play with, giving me a bit of variety outside of my contemporary horror novels, and they are going to be joined by characters who will be comparable with superheroes. I promise there won’t be any tights or spandex though! I’ve just been inspired by superhero shows and games, and I recently saw a picture of Victorian Batman which was awesome, and I enjoy the ensemble approaches to threats like in ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’, ‘The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen’ and ‘The Avengers’ and I want a bit of that myself. Don’t worry if this isn’t your thing though, it’s all going to fit the world and it will give me more opportunities to take the story telling in different directions. As the larger story progresses Darkwood is going to need all the help she can get. I’m quite excited by it.

Personally, it’s been tough recently. As I mentioned in a previous post, my mum was taken ill at the beginning of the month. She has an ongoing degenerative illness, but it’s the first time she’s had an emergency hospital admission, so that was horrible. She’s okay at the moment, fine really, but she’s finally accepted she needs to slow down, and it’s all planning for the worst with wills and power of attorney plans. Sensible, morbid, and hopefully all far in advance of being needed.

If that wasn’t enough, I’ve found I may be affected by the government cuts. My old department has been named for restructure and redundancy, and although I got moved out of there it seems like someone didn’t do their job properly and my pay still comes out of their budget. No formal announcements yet, so we’re all just hanging waiting to hear. It’s been touch and go from year to year with every budget, but it doesn’t make it any easier.

It’s not all doom and gloom though. I’ve had some good geek time this month, taking more time to chill with my other half and making time for boardgames, and I’ve had part of an awesome geek delivery–a very expensive one that I committed to before I knew I might lose my job! We’re also off to see Simon Amstel in stand-up this week, and off to the Sci-Fi ball convention next Sunday.

As for this blog, I’ll share a review of an awesome game I’ve been playing, and I’ll show-off that geek purchase, and let you know what the Sci-Fi ball is like as well as lots of other things too.

Thanks for the reads and likes and follows this month.

How’s your January been? Anything geeky you’re looking forward to this month? Have you been to the Sci-Fi ball before, or are you even going this Saturday too?!

What do you think?

