Ivory–The Marked One…

Sadly not the title of a follow-up to my novel ‘Ivory’. Recently I made some changes to the details of my novel through Kindle. It was held up and removed from the store due to an undisclosed copyright infringement, which you can read about here. It was a stressful experience, but was resolved with a couple of emails, and you can read about that in the follow-up post. It shook me enough to take my books out of the KDP programme–I don’t want to commit my books to an exclusive deal if they can be so easily removed by a fake copyright claim. Especially as the that returned…

With my two novels now out of the KDP exclusivity period I decided to reduce their prices. ‘Harvest’ went live within 12 hours–‘Ivory’ did not. Six days later I had the standard email from Amazon asking me to confirm my copyright claim. I replied promptly and pointed out that it had happened previously and thankfully they got back to me within a day and told me it would be live again, which it now is. So, it was easily resolved, but clearly this title has been flagged in some way. I’ve asked again for the details of the previous copyright infringement claim, and contact details of the claimant so I might be able to address this, and asked whether my title has indeed been flagged as having an issue. I don’t hold out much hope of getting a reply to these as I didn’t last time.

I just wanted to share this experience to raise awareness of this as an issue that might affect other self-published writers. It could be that issues like this are easily resolved, but the standard emails that you receive don’t inspire much confidence in dealing with a corporation as an individual with little means or influence, and it’s a worry that you just don’t get the decision overturned. I won’t be making any changes to this title again for a while, I don’t want to take the risk of Amazon not accepting my defense next time and perhaps losing my publishing rights through them.

Have you had experiences like this? I’d love to hear from you.

What do you think?

